Call 985-888-0640 to speak to an experienced personal injury attorney.
I am an auto accident attorney who has helped many people recover money for the injuries they have suffered in car accidents occurring in and around Covington and St. Tammany Parish. There are several dangerous intersections in Covington where I’ve handle numerous vehicle collision cases.
Recently, Louisiana experienced a very high number of traffic accident deaths according to the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development. In 2021, The DOTD reported 914 highway crashes and 997 deaths. To compare, there were 993 deaths in 2007. In 2020, there were 762 automobile crashes and 828 automobile fatalities.
Will insurance cover my losses?
Do you know how much car insurance the person who hit you has? In Louisiana, the at-fault driver is not legally required to disclose how much liability coverage they carry unless you file a lawsuit and obtain that information in discovery. At Kervin Law, we have tools to help us find out how much insurance the at-fault driver has and whether or not they have an unbrella policy which may cover your damages.
This is important because In Louisiana, motorists and motorcycle operators are only required to maintain a minimum of $15,000 in insurance coverage for one person, and $30,000 in coverage for multiple occupants. That’s not a lot of insurance considering how expensive medical bills can be. A single Emergency Room visit alone can cost more than $15,000.
Often the minimum coverage is not enough to compensate you if you have been injured in a car wreck. This is why it’s important for you to maintain Uninsured Motorist / Underinsured Motorist (“UM / UIM”) coverage in case you are injured by someone who has either no insurance, or minimum insurance limits.
What are my rights and duties if I have been in a car accident?
If you are involved in a car accident in Covington, or anywhere in St. Tammany Parish, call us because we can help you determine how much coverage the at-fault driver has. It’s also important to remember that in Louisiana, you only have one year from the date of the collision to file your lawsuit.
Don’t wait to talk to an attorney. Call or email us today so we can give you a free case evaluation.who has
Call Kervin Law at 985-888-0640 for a free case evaluation.