covington personal injury lawyer

How long do I have to sue in Louisiana?

Posted on March 15, 2023

How long do you have to sue in Louisiana?

The amount of time you have to sue from the date of the accident is called the “prescriptive period.”  It is called the Statute of Limitations in other common law states.

What are the prescriptive periods in louisiana?

Prescriptive periods in Louisiana refer to the time limits within which a legal action must be filed. The prescriptive periods vary depending on the type of legal action involved. Here are some common prescriptive periods in Louisiana:

  1. Personal injury claims: One year from the date of the injury or discovery of the injury.
  2. Property damage claims: One year from the date of the damage or discovery of the damage.
  3. Contract claims: 10 years for written contracts and 5 years for oral contracts.
  4. Defamation claims: One year from the date the defamatory statement was made.
  5. Medical malpractice claims: One year from the date of the alleged malpractice or discovery of the malpractice, with a maximum limit of three years from the date of the malpractice.

The issue of prescriptive periods can be complex and may be subject to certain exceptions or extensions. If you have a legal issue, it’s recommended to consult with an attorney to determine the applicable prescriptive period for your case.  Call 985-888-0640 to speak to an experienced personal injury attorney today.

Categories: Personal Injury Lawyer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *